«Meet the Team»: Samuel Wille

Welcome Samuel Wille 🍾 Sam has headed the core team of Sustainable Switzerland, an initiative of the NZZ with renowned partners from business and science, since 15 March 2022. As Topic Manager, he is also in charge of the operational side of our national project. Before he moved to NZZ, he was one of the initiators of Swisstainable, the programme for increased sustainability at Swiss Tourism, and Head of Corporate Relations at WWF Switzerland.

Can you tell us something interesting about yourself?

I sometimes admit to taking part in a US-American primetime advertising spot – even if it was only as a hand model.

Is the glass half full or half empty for you?

If it contains green tea or gin and tonic, then it’s going to be empty soon. If you’re talking about life, then it’s definitely half full!

What was the first job you wanted when you were a child?

Sports commentator. Even though I didn’t select it as my main profession later on, my time as a freelance presenter was an invaluable part of my life.

What advice would you give your twenty-year-old self for the future?

I would follow Steve Jobs’ wonderful commencement address at Stanford: Stay hungry, stay foolish. Don’t take things too seriously, but make the most of every day! Life is too valuable to just let it go by.

What are you up to this year?

We are still right in the middle of setting up the Sustainable Switzerland initiative, which will probably continue on into 2023 as well. Apart from that, I want to have more time for my family, myself and my golf game again.

Newsletter registration

With the NZZone newsletter we regularly inform you about our activities and news.

«Meet the Team»: Samuel Wille

Welcome Samuel Wille 🍾 Sam leitet seit dem 15. März 2022 das Kernteam von Sustainable Switzerland, einer Initiative der NZZ mit namhaften Partnern aus Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft. Als Themenmanager zeichnet er für unser nationales Projekt auch operativ verantwortlich. Vor seinem Wechsel zur NZZ war er einer der Initianten von Swisstainable, dem Programm für mehr Nachhaltigkeit bei Schweiz Tourismus, und Head of Corporate Relations bei WWF Schweiz.

Etwas Interessantes über dich?

Ich gebe manchmal damit an, dass ich schon in einem US-amerikanischen Primetime-Werbespot mitgespielt habe – auch wenn nur als Handmodell.

Ist das Glas für dich halb voll oder halb leer?

Wenn es Grüntee oder Gin Tonic drin hat(te), dann sicher schon bald leer. Sonst im Leben definitiv halb voll!

Was war der erste Beruf, den du als Kind ergreifen wolltest?

Sportkommentator. Auch wenn ich diese Schiene später nicht hauptberuflich gewählt habe, so hat meine Zeit als freiberuflicher Moderator mein Leben wertvoll geprägt.

Was würdest du deinem zwanzigjährigen Selbst auf den Weg geben?

Ich würde mich an Steve Jobs’ wunderbare Abschlussrede in Stanford halten: «Stay hungry, stay foolish». Nimm es nicht zu ernst, aber nutze jeden Tag! Das Leben ist zu wertvoll, um es einfach passieren zu lassen.

Wie sieht dein bevorstehendes Jahr aus?

Wir sind noch voll im Aufbau der Initiative Sustainable Switzerland, das wird mein 2023 sicherlich weiter prägen. Ansonsten ist mein Anspruch, wieder etwas mehr Zeit für meine Familie, mich und mein Golfspiel zu haben.

Newsletter-Anmeldung

Mit dem NZZone Newsletter informieren wir regelmässig über unsere Aktivitäten und Neuheiten.